“Hijacking decolonisation”: French Polynesia at the UN

“In a historic decision, the United Nations General Assembly adopted a resolution on 17 May to reinscribe French Polynesia on the UN list of non-self-governing territories. The resolution, sponsored by Solomon Islands, Nauru and Tuvalu with support from Vanuatu, Samoa and Timor-Leste, was adopted by the 193-member UN General Assembly without a vote. It ends a sixty-five-year period during which French Polynesia has been absent from the list of countries recognised as colonial possessions” [Read more in this recent post by Nic Maclellan to Inside Story].

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.